top of page

Bit o' Paradise

I don't know which was more exciting. The actual thrill of riding on this boat, which was soaring over the intriguing Alaskan waters...or the idea of camping on a secluded island in an enchanted cabin surrounded by magical forests that were nearly untouched by man. Or maybe it was the combination of both that sent spikes of adrenaline through my gut and filled my eyes with wonder.

The boat, Quiet Mon, named after a pub in the Virgin Islands jolted over each wave and all 6 people, 3 dogs, and month's supply of food bobbed away with it. Every time I felt my body elevate I smiled. I smiled again as I watched the water splash the windows. It's the same feeling I get when riding a roller coaster. & I love roller coasters. But this was better. So much better.

If the sea & great pine tree painted mountains weren't breathtaking enough, the other sights blew my mind out of the water…literally…the boat was flying higher and higher now.

I hit my head on a speaker behind me and clenched my dog closer. But I wouldn’t have noticed if my aunt hadn’t had asked me, “Are you ok?!”

I was distracted by a pair of birds. There were only two of them that I could see in all the ocean’s vastness but they were flying together. It seemed to me that they were

Happy

& Free

& in Love.

How wonderful it will be when I have someone to adventure with like that someday…I began to daydream…about being one of those birds. They flew away together into the clouds. Another bird caught my gaze. It was only a foot above the chopping waters. & It was flapping ferociously. Most birds I’ve seen fly above the ocean, just let the wind carry them. Flapping only occasionally. Not this one. It seemed like it was fighting for its life.

But then I saw something in it.

Its spirit maybe? A vibe?

If thats even possible.

What ever I saw I realized something.

It too, although without a partner was Happy & Free & in Love. In love with being able to fly so fast that even the predators below it, although so close wouldn’t be able to jump & grasp it. Or maybe it was in love with being able to test its limits. Use its energy with full potential. Maybe it was in love with not holding back. For now, I want to be like that bird, I thought.

Happy & Free & in Love.

In love with life. I guess I should discover myself before I do someone else. But someday…I still dream…I’ll be just like the other pair of birds.

Look! There’s a sea otter!” my aunt’s chirpy and bubbly voice alerted me. Sure enough… my eyes exploded with twinkles as (excuse my cheesiness) a cute & cuddly looking sea otter floated on its back. I felt like a little kid again & had the sudden urge to hug it... Its brown nose & matching brown dipped paws poked through the water. In all this chaos, I thought…there was this chill little sea otter. Enjoying what little sun was out & just goin with the flow of things.

Life’s like the waves, I heard it say, the trick is to just ride em, wherever they take you. & If you don't like the wave your'e on...just get off of it.

(haha I promise I’m not going mad…not yet anyway.)

Ombre colored rocks from the different layers of algae sped past the boat as we continued to whiz by. I wanted to keep looking but my phone kept going off. This would be my last chance for the next 4 days to interact with the social world. I was happy though. That my phone wouldn’t distract me. It would be just me & the island. & Well, Chloe. & My aunt & uncle. & Grandmother. & Dave. & Lauren. & Nika & Ranger. & A guy named Tomas would come for an evening. Ok… you get the point.

All in all I would get the chance to connect with the important things in life.

Like family. & Nature. & Even myself. I would have time to actually think. Think without a screen in front of me. This could be dangerous...

...Me?

...Thinking? *yuck

Me. &. Thinking. *uber yuck

Whhaaaaat.

Afraid I would miss something, like another wise otter or any other inspirational creatures, I took a few pictures for keepsake & clicked my phone off. There. Ha! Sucker.

I think?

The boat took a quick smooth turn. “We’re here!” Now what lay beyond the thin window was that “enchanted” cabin.

It stood out quite prominently from among all the island’s lush greenery & pointed to the dazzling sun above it with its grand wooden frame. I grabbed the binoculars. I had never seen such a majestic cabin. (Not that I see that many cabins but dude…it was kind of awesome.) I don’t think this is considered camping... more like a privilege to stay in something so beautiful. With even more beauty that surrounded it. I remember thinking aloud.

I got into a kayak. The water forcefully glided with every stroke. Then I was officially the island’s inhabitant.

Bewildered was I as I took one step onto the slightly rocky sand. My aunt smiled, “Welcome to a Little Bit of Paradise.”

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page